The Heisman award is given each year to the top football player in the nation. In the history of the Heisman only the University of Notre Dame has had 7 individuals win this prestigious award. The 7 Heisman Trophy Winners of the University of Notre Dame are celebrated in this monumental tribute measuring approximately 4 X 8 ft. This display pays tribute to all 7 of Notre Dame's Heisman winners . Featured are Angelo Bertelli, Johnny Lujack, Leon Hart, Johnny Lattner, Paul Hornung, John Huarte, and Tim Brown. The display includes signed photos of each player as a member of the Notre Dame team, authentic football cards of each player as a pro and as the Heisman winner, photos of each player as they received their Heisman Trophy, actual Heisman ballots that were cast for each of the first 6 (all except Brown) players, vintage Notre Dame pins, Notre Dame mini helmet halves, an actual slice of the original sideline bench at Notre Dame which all Heisman winners most likely shared during their brief time off the gridiron, and engraved metal nameplates and plaques detailing the story of each of the players depicted in this display. This is the largest framed display we have ever presented and outsized even the biggest commercially available matte boards. Requiring a bit of imagination, we substituted a full 4 x 8 sheet of furniture grade plywood, sanded and stained it in Minwax Cherry, and finished it with 2 coats of Minwax Semi-Gloss Polyurethane. Each player was then memorialized in his own 'compartment', which was matted in Notre Dame gold and blue, then individually framed in a walnut wood which was then attached to the plywood, giving a 'raised panel molding effect, similar to what would have been seen on the walls in the Downtown Athletic Club, where each of these players received their Heisman Trophies. A black shadow box framed with an additional face frame completes this monumental tribute to some of Notre Dame's finest gridiron greats.






©2008 GOING GOING GONE SPORTS MEMORABILIA. Marlene Steiner & Neil Sherer. All rights reserved.